It’s Not Over

Jessica Keener Photography

 

From this picture, you’d think I was always happy-go-lucky and confident. Not so, friend. Not so.

Today, I decided to be brave and share about my story within God’s story. It’s been a long and winding journey, but I’m happy to say that I’m here before you today, trusting in the Lord.

I’m not sure why I’ve been reflecting so much recently, but I think it’s perhaps because of some of my more recent mistakes and encounters. However, instead of reacting, I grew numb. It was quite alarming. That, coupled with a strange, empty desperation made me remember how good God is in my life.

Forgive the post-work messy hair and second take puffy/teary eyes. Please just take a moment and let me explain…

If I had given up at 13, I would never have:

  1. learned what love is not.
  2. learned who love is.
  3. studied abroad in Hong Kong.
  4. gone to Hungary and work with amazing refugees
  5. gotten a Fulbright scholarship.
  6. heard Spoken Word.
  7. fell in love with lindy hop and dance culture.
  8. written for Buzz and Hyphen
  9. become Yelp Elite.
  10. lived and let live.

“Never, never, never give up.” That’s what one of my favorite pastors on campus said to me at a moment when I needed to hear it the most.

If you’re feeling down and need help, please don’t hesitate to ask someone or seek resources.

When I felt out of sorts, I consulted:

“You are not the answer. You are not the problem.”

Never, never, never ever quit. Even with your car alarm, smoke alarm heart, your too quick wit and your endless mistakes. You are not a mistake. You are created.

You are the type to last and to love and to create.

You are art formed by the Divine Creator.

15

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” ~Isaiah 41:10

Love, love and more love,

S.


(image via oneofthehoraios.tumblr.com)

Leave a Reply

