I See You.

This is for all my monolid brothers and sisters out there.

onsugar.co
photo via onsugar.com

I see you, even if society would rather not.

Coming to Taiwan, I expected entirely different standards of beauty. Given my exposure to Kpop and Cpop, I knew the prevalence of surgery and the prestige of whiter, brighter skin. However, living in the culture is entirely different.

Out of many Asian countries, Taiwan probably puts a lot less pressure on getting double eyelid surgery. However, I would say there is a stigma against 小眼睛 or those with 單眼皮as seen by the ridiculous posters for sketchy eye surgery on Luodong street corners and humongous eyes advising going under the knife in Taipei. It seems like everyone wants to look a little wider, to see in a different physical way, to look a different way.

So this is for all you monolids out there. I just wanted to say, my, my, you look fantastic. I mean, look at you. All that fantastic lid space, those gorgeous peepers. Why do you wanna see in standard when you can see in HD widescreen, baby? ;D Alright, alright. Sure, you can’t always pull off three different eyeshadows and maybe you long for more contour, but no one else can look that cute with just a little bit of eyeliner or barefaced. Not a one.

This is for every single man or woman who has or is considering eyelid surgery because they feel inadequate, ugly or out of place. This is for those who American ads ignore and who Asian ads ignore as well. This is for all ya’ll that have used eyelid tape, glue, clips (really?) or other terrifying appliances to create an extra fold and achieve bigger eyes. This is for everyone who has ever been told they have saggy lids, ugly eyes, small eyes or squinty ones. This is for those whose eyes puff in the morning, puff when they’ve cried too much or just have eaten too much ramen at night. I see you for who you are and…

You. Are. Beautiful. Never forget that.

This is for you because too many things are against you. If it’s not a negative stereotype, it’s still an equally derogatory “positive” one. Yellow fever, etc. You are more than what people think of you, more than what they say about you. It’s not just skin deep just because they try to make it about that.

Once upon a time, I hated my eyes. I hated how my classmates would tug at their eyelids to make fun of my almond shape, the way I struggled with eye makeup, the way I couldn’t ever really achieve a so-called “wide-eyed look.” Older, wiser now, I’ve thrown away the eyelid tape, the glue, the circle lenses. I don’t try to “find my eyelid socket” to contour my eyes (what?!). I look at myself and think of my history.

I come from a line of strong woman with monolids. Women present at the Rape of Nanking. Women who stood at TianAnMen Square. Women who fought, resisted, struggled and won. Erasing my face, becoming like everyone else, is forgetting my history and where I come from. I have had a revelation and am proud of my genesis, so don’t try and rewrite me.

You are more than you think you are. You are pleasing to a perfect God. That’s all that matters.

“I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.”

Psalm 139: 14-16 ESV via biblia.com

Haters, keep drinking your haterade. Lovers, overflow with love.

You do you.

10694294_10202509783335458_2221423813018443903_o

I’m single-lidded and lovin’ it. ^____^

Love from Luodong,

S.

Leave a Reply

