On ‘Letting It Go.’

This is an op-ed piece written to complement this post on LindyHopped (aka Swing of Things). 

spg

Image courtesy of Cinemagraphs

I recently had the pleasure of reading this re-post from a dance partner, the very dance savvy Eddie Rutland. The post reads as follows:

“This generation is so intelligent. They care about racism, feminism, ableism, and that’s such a positive mentality, but they need to leave room for forgiveness,” she said. “Nobody is perfect and people are educating themselves at different paces. So be mindful.” -Halsey, singer/songwriter of The Badlands.

Yes, we should forgive, and be mindful of what it means to be from different backgrounds. Before this quote, Halsey also reportedly says, “I don’t speak for anything” and “I can’t speak for any experience but my own, and if people can relate to that, then that just goes to show how similar people are despite the diversity.” I have mixed feelings about Halsey’s statements. On one hand, as a marginalized person, do I even have a voice to forgive? Do I have a voice that people can here? Because I am not part white, are people more likely to typecast me, write me off, stereotype me, or interrupt me? I wonder about forgiveness in a society which limits agency of the Other, that undermines my and many other identities simply because we are. Yes, I want to reach the point of forgiveness but not until we’ve had an intense conversation about what it means to be privileged.

Whiteness and status lend agency. They lend privilege. Halsey recognizes she doesn’t speak “for anything,” yet by nature of her craft, she does. The fact that she fails to recognize her platform is a lens of the colorblind philosophy rampant in the “New Americana” she perceives. I bring up Critical Race Theory, the issue of “comfort” or perceived “safe space,” and intolerance masked in every U.S. subculture not because I’m a masochist (sometimes it feels like it), but because minorities are being silenced. When we say “just forgive” or “just get over it,” we are silencing people. What would have happened to the feminist waves and movements if people listened to “just forgive?”

I self-identify as a person of faith who loves Christ and God. I am aware that this marker immediately shuts people down because of how horribly the Church has failed with forgiveness, love, and tolerance. Christians are some of the most racist, mean, cunning people I know; God came to heal the sick, not the healthy. I do believe in the power of forgiveness, and I see that sometimes people equate forgetfulness with forgiveness. I don’t forget. I think that’s ridiculous, because even old wounds leave ugly scars. Sure, these wounds have healed, but I still run my fingers over the raised tissue. It’s a warning, to tread carefully. Telling a marginalized person to forgive is like telling people who have little to no agency to tolerate oppression. NO. I will bow my head to God alone. It IS oppression, however subtle and dismissive the comments manifest themselves. I see it in my classes. When friends, good friends, say things like, “Oh, well your opinion is wrong” or when they talk over me, “Well, I think you mean….” No. Hell no. Let me talk. Let me have my voice. Don’t FORGIVE when it is in your place, for once, to listen.

It is terrifying to me that so many people in the U.S. are ready to let it go. To quote the Fort Worth slam team in their spoken word “McKinney,”You people are too damn satisfied.” I do not write off forgiveness. I support listening to diverse opinions, and I want people not to shut down after hearing the affect behind counternarratives.

Before asking forgiveness from others, perhaps ask to forgive yourself. We all deal with privilege, and we all need to check our privilege. I am not “safe” either. I am biased towards students who have been bullied, harrassed, who are minorities. I must chide myself to remember the different facets of issues without denying agency.

On people who think I talk too much.  I am talking because I didn’t for 20 years (I was made aware of my race by age 4). On people who think I don’t “forgive” enough. I forgive you by telling you these things. If I didn’t care, like I didn’t for 20 years, I wouldn’t say a word.

It’s about time.

-Yue

women

Leave a Reply

